Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County (AHCMC)

Ida F. Haimovicz Visual Arts Award


Arts patron Ida F. Haimovicz developed her artistic talent as a sculptor late in life, but as she grew older she wished that she had started much sooner. Because of this, she wanted to encourage young people to develop and pursue their talent in visual art while they are young. In her memory, her family created an endowment with the Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County (AHCMC). AHCMC gratefully recognizes the Family of Ida F. Haimovicz for their generous gift to endow this award


This award is given to a high school senior graduating in the class of 2015 who is enrolled in a public or non-public high school in Montgomery County to benefit his/her pursuit of a visual arts career. The $3,000 Ida F. Haimovicz Visual Arts Award for 2014 will be granted following a juried selection process that is based upon artistic merit of the original work submitted and the applicant’s potential for a visual arts career, not financial need.


An applicant must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Be a Montgomery County resident
  • Be enrolled full-time during the fall semester of their senior year in a public or non-public high school located in Montgomery County, and
  • Have a cumulative grade point average of at least 2.5.

Applications Deadline

Applications for the 2014 Award must be submitted via the online application system by Wednesday, October 1, 2014  at 11:59pm.  Below are the 2014 guidelines and application materials for your reference:

2014 Haimovicz Guidelines 
2014 Haimovicz Application

Application Preparation Assistance

AHCMC staff will provide assistance to those applying for the Haimovicz Visual Arts Award. Applicants are encouraged to contact AHCMC with any questions they may have. Assistance is available via email, phone or in-person by contacting Robert Hanson at or 301-565-3805.


 2014 Recipient: Malaika V. Temba

Join us on June 10th at 6:00 p.m. for a reception celebrating Malaika V. Temba, 2014 recipient of the Ida F. Haimovicz Visual Arts Award! Her work will be on display at the Betty Mae Kramer Gallery and Music Room.

Malaika V. Temba
Malaika is a recent graduate from Albert Einstein High School’s Visual Arts Center Magnet Program where she concentrated in Visual Arts. Earlier this year, she was a semifinalist for the U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts. Since she was a little girl, Malaika has been fascinated with color and design. While she currently lives in Silver Spring, she grew up traveling overseas. Her distinct memories of colors, red spices and blue tiles from the ornate markets in Morocco, yellow fruit and green banana trees from Uganda, and purple from the jacaranda trees of South Africa, have inspired her artistically. She will be attending the Rhode Island School of Design this fall and aspires to pursue a career in the visual arts. 


Artistic Statement
Art is a central part of who I am. Since I was a little girl I have always been fascinated with color and design. Every piece of paper I used had patterns of some sort on it. I have had bright green graffiti, purple, yellow, pink, and black and white damask walls in my bedroom. 

My family lived overseas while I was growing up, and from every country of my childhood I have a distinct memory of colors: red spices and blue tiles from the ornate markets in Morocco, yellow fruit and green banana trees from Uganda, and purple from the jacaranda trees of South Africa. These colors that I have collected not only represent my life and experiences, but they are the memories and the emotions and the images that I am tied to.


Now, as a high school senior at the Visual Art Center Magnet Program, I spend most of my time thinking about and doing art. I try to make it a part of everything I do, whether it be a history paper about visual propaganda or data in science class that needs to be represented in a visually effective way.


The type of art I'm most fascinated by now is visual historical propaganda; in this, I define propaganda neutrally, as something that can be used for good or bad, but that is designed to persuade towards a specific goal. Art has influenced the world in extremely powerful ways, such as bringing individuals to power or encouraging whole nations to make peace or fight wars. The power that visual messages have over people is unmatched by any other field of expression. Messages that are conveyed have a level of accessibility that makes visual artists understood universally. There are certain emotions that, when evoked with visual art, are stronger and more moving than anything texts or speech can generate.


As I grow as an artist, I would like to learn graphic design and digital motion graphics to be able to spread my art in our age of digital media. Today people are plagued with annoying advertisements in almost every aspect of life. I hope to change this and become a modern day visual propagandist (in a positive way) and create those same graphics that people cannot avoid in a way that will be not only appreciated, but also influential.


This body of work is my first effort at creating propaganda for the common good. The concept I tackled is racial inequality in schools in terms of disciplinary punishment for students. In the United States, we have Zero Tolerance policies that stemmed from heightened security in schools after 9/11 and school shootings. While I agree that we must create safe learning environments, these policies result in very serious